Advising

VCUarts students are assigned an advisor who can help them with plan, implement and achieve their academic goals. You should meet with your academic advisor at least once per semester to ensure that you are on track to meet all of your goals.

FAQ

Academic Resources

Find your Advisor

Advising for First-Year and Transfer Students in Art Foundation (Visual Arts and Design)

Students can identify their advisor and make advising appointments through Navigate.

Academic AdvisorContact
Nathan Tersteegntersteeg@vcu.edu
Kent Casecasek4@vcu.edu
Anthony Meloroameloro@vcu.edu
Darby Libkalibkadr@vcu.edu

Advising for First-Year Students Majoring in Cinema, Performance and Fashion Merchandising

First Year MajorAcademic AdvisorContact
Cinema, Dance + Choreography and Fashion Merchandising majorsKent Casecasek4@vcu.edu

Advising for Second-Year Students and Beyond

MajorAcademic AdvisorContact
Art EducationChristine Hoffman, Academic Advisorcdesantis@vcu.edu
Art HistoryJacqueline Mullins, Academic Advisormullinsjf@vcu.edu
CinemaSarah Midkiff, Academic Advisorscmidkiff@vcu.edu
Communication ArtsClaire Zitzow, Academic Advisor
Brad Birchett, Academic Advisor
zitzowce@vcu.edu
bbirchett@vcu.edu
Craft/Material StudiesSayaka Suzuki, Academic Advisorsuzukis@vcu.edu
Dance + ChoreographyJanel Miley, Academic Advisorknipplejr@vcu.edu
Fashion Design + MerchandisingJacqueline Mullins, Academic Advisormullinsjf@vcu.edu
Graphic DesignSarah Briland, Academic Advisorbrilands@vcu.edu
Interior DesignSarah Briland, Academic Advisorbrilands@vcu.edu
Kinetic ImagingClaire Zitzow, Academic Advisorzitzowce@vcu.edu
MusicChristine Hoffman, Academic Advisorcdesantis@vcu.edu
Painting + PrintmakingSayaka Suzuki, Academic Advisorsuzukis@vcu.edu
Photo + FilmSarah Midkiff, Academic Advisorscmidkiff@vcu.edu
SculptureSayaka Suzuki, Academic Advisorsuzukis@vcu.edu
TheatreJanel Miley, Academic Advisor & Assistant Professorknipplejr@vcu.edu