Covid-19 notification icon

Painting and Printmaking

Master of Fine Arts in Fine Arts with a concentration in painting and printmaking

  • p
Group of graduate students sit around a table as an artist speaks in an outdoor setting.

About the Program

The Master of Fine Arts in Fine Arts with a concentration in painting and printmaking is highly selective and is presently limited to 15 participants. It fosters intensive studio practice in the areas of painting, drawing, printmaking, and a range of interdisciplinary practices. The graduate program is ranked #2 in Printmaking and #12 in Painting/Drawing by U.S. News & World Report.

The painting and printmaking program requires 60 credit hours and is usually completed in two years of full-time study. Most of these credit hours are in your studio area and are augmented by related courses in specialized academic fields. In weekly graduate seminars, you will address topics related to contemporary art, critical theory, art criticism, and professional practices.

You will meet with individual committees composed of three faculty members to conduct an ongoing dialogue and critique. At the end of the second semester, you will discuss your work at a candidacy critique comprising your committee and additional faculty members. At the successful conclusion of your second year, you will mount a comprehensive exhibition of work at The Anderson.

Visiting Faculty

Each semester the Department of Painting + Printmaking invites a distinguished visiting faculty member to work with MFA students, both in the Graduate Seminar and in one-on-one studio visits. These individuals bring a fresh perspective to the program, and connect our students with different types of visual arts practices.

  • 2020 – 2021: Beatriz Balanta, Evan Garza, Silvia Kolbowski
  • 2019 – 2020: Kenny Rivero, Noam Segal
  • 2018 – 2019: Caitlin Cherry, Joseph del Pesco
  • 2017 – 2018: Wendy Vogel, Kimberli Gant, Kanishka Raja
  • 2016 – 2017:   Michael Berryhill, Douglas Boatwright
  • 2015 – 2016:   Fawn Krieger
  • 2014 – 2015:   Thom Donovan, Christopher K. Ho
  • 2013 – 2014:   Arnold Kemp, B. Wurtz
  • 2012 – 2013:   Bruce Pearson, Holly Coulis
  • 2011 – 2012:   Lisi Raskin, Jeremy Sigler
  • 2010 – 2011:   Jill Moser, Matthew Day Jackson
  • 2009 – 2010:   Spencer Finch
  • 2008 – 2009:   Suzanne McClelland, Douglas Melini
  • 2007 – 2008:   James Hyde, Virgil Marti
  • 2006 – 2007:   Sebastiaan Bremer, Bruce Pearson
  • 2005 – 2006:   Diana Cooper, Joanne Greenbaum
  • 2004 – 2005:   Pamela Fraser, Virgil Marti
  • 2003 – 2004:   Joe Fyfe, Bonnie Collura
  • 2002 – 2003:   James Siena, James Hyde
  • 2001 – 2002:   Diana Cooper, Rob Pruitt

Frequently Asked Questions