Internship Spotlight: Indigo Witt

Categories

The Department of Art History recently caught up with Indigo Witt (BFA ’23) about her internship within the Education Department of the Virginia Museum of History and Culture.

Hey Indigo! Describe for us your current internship and what a day to day may entail.

The Education Internship at the Virginia Museum of History and Culture is meant to be a meaningful experience for students passionate about historical research and hands-on work in the museum field. As an intern I am responsible for leading K-12 Educational programs, digital outreach, and conducting research for my own projects. One of the workshops I lead is Stories at the Museum, which includes reading a story to a young student and showing them an exhibit that educates them on a related topic. I love having opportunities to work closely with the community, while sharing knowledge on historical information. My day to day as an intern entails working closely with Education staff in admin work, and observing tours of the museum to familiarize myself with the exhibits and artifacts this museum features.

What sparked your interest in this internship?

What sparked my interest in this internship was its emphasis on art education for students of all ages and backgrounds. All communities deserve to see themselves represented in the history and unparalleled story of Virginia. I was excited about the idea of having access to primary source documents for my own interpretations and analysis. I was also interested in learning the behind-the-scenes of the events, guest engagement, museum programming, and the variety of collections. 

What project or experience has been a highlight of interning with the VMHC so far?