Alum spotlight: Lisa Kelly (MFA ’09)

Categories
woman looking into distance

Lisa Kelly, MFA in Dramatic Literature / Pedagogy, 2009

lisak110@hotmail.com

When Lisa was four, “I thought I was Annie,” but she transitioned to tech theatre in high school, mostly as a stage manager, “I was not that good of an actor, but I was really good at helping actors become better.”

While Lisa was getting her undergrad in Theatre from UNC Chapel Hill, she attended an SETC graduate fair and discovered VCU.  “It was amazing. I studied with Noreen Barnes-McLain and Aaron Anderson and even got into fight choreography with David Leong. I got to direct, stage manage, dramaturg and work in all aspects of theatre at a high level. We were engaging in the art of theatre, then talking about how we are going to teach these skills to next generation.”

Lisa Kelly, PhD

Lisa went to Northwestern for her PhD in Theatre and Drama. While in Chicago, she directed at festivals and served as dramaturg for several companies.

University of Iowa CIRTL workshop

Lisa currently runs the Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching and Learning (CIRTL) at the University of Iowa, where she collaborates with faculty, grad students and post-docs to improve teaching and learning.  “The way I approach my job is with a theater focus. I use ‘yes/and’ when discussing research. I teach communicating through improv, helping scientists get comfortable outside the labs. In general, it’s about trying to engage audiences and make them interested in the material. With grad students, I conduct mock interviews and give them feedback on voice and body language.”

Lisa Kelly at a University of Iowa recruitment event in Chicago