Advising

We have high expectations for our students! We expect that students will be responsible for planning, implementing and achieving their academic goals. We also expect that students will meet at least once each semester with their academic advisor so that we can help support these goals.

What is academic advising?

Academic advising is a learning process that helps students answer these common questions:

  • How do I build an academic plan?
  • How will I know what classes to take?
  • How will I register for classes?
  • How do I build a class schedule around all of my responsibilities?
  • What do I do when I am having trouble in my classes?
  • How can I be sure to graduate in 4 years?
  • How can I double major or add a minor to my academic plan?
  • How do I plan to study abroad, participate in research or find internship opportunities?

What can an academic advisor do to help me?

Your academic advisor can:

  • Help you to identify personal and academic goals
  • Connect you with campus based and professional resources
  • Encourage you to persist through personal and academic challenges
  • Support student responsibility and the pursuit of lifelong-learning

Who is my academic advisor?

Academic advising at VCU and VCUarts is a continuous process. However, students may have a number of advisors over the course of their enrollment.

Advising for the First Year

First year students at VCU are advised through a specialized program in the University College.

Students who have want to major in our fine arts and design programs must complete the Art Foundations program before declaring a degree granting major.

Advising for the Second Year and Beyond

For the second year of enrollment and beyond our students are advised in their academic major. Some academic departments have one professional academic advisor who assists all students in that major. Other departments use a faculty-advising model where each student is advised by a full-time faculty member in their major.

Regardless of the major, all students at VCUarts are encouraged to work closely with and build relationships with their faculty throughout their program.

Advising for First Year Students in Art Foundation (Fine Arts and Design)

AFO StudentsAcademic AdvisorContact
Last names A-JBrad Birchett
Advisor, AFO
University College
(804) 827-8648
bbirchett@vcu.edu
Hibbs Hall, First Floor
900 Park Avenue
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2002
P.O. Box 842002
Last names K-ZAnthony Meloro
Advisor, AFO/Studio Arts
(804) 827-8648
ameloro@vcu.edu
Hibbs Hall, First Floor
900 Park Avenue
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2002
P.O. Box 84200

Advising for First Year Students Majoring in Cinema, Performance and Fashion Merchandising

First Year MajorAcademic AdvisorContact
Cinema, Dance and Choreography, Fashion Merchandising, Music and Theatre majorsJohn Hendershot
Advisor, University College
Academic Advisor
University College
BOX 842507
(804) 827-8648
hendershotje@vcu.edu

Advising for the Second Year and Beyond

MajorAdvising ContactEmail
Art Foundation (transfer and continuing students only)A. Christopher Norris, Student Coordinator and Transfer Advisoracnorri@vcu.edu
Art EducationMeredith Hertel, Advisor and Licensure Coordinatorhertelml@vcu.edu
Art HistoryCynthia Myron, Administrative Director & Assistant Professormyroncj@vcu.edu
CinemaNikita Moyer
Administrative Director
moyernr@vcu.edu
Communication ArtsBrad Birchett, Academic Advisorbbirchett@vcu.edu
Craft/Material StudiesDebbie Quick, Assistant Chair & Assistant Professor, Clayquickd@vcu.edu
Dance and ChoreographyLea Marshall, Interim Chairdance@vcu.edu
Fashion Design and MerchandisingDonna Reamy, Interim Chairdwreamy@vcu.edu
Graphic DesignAnne Graves, Assistant Chairakgraves@vcu.edu
Interior DesignRob Smith, Administrative Directorsmithrd@vcu.edu
Kinetic ImagingBrad Birchett, Academic Advisorbbirchett@vcu.edu
MusicJohn Hendershot, Academic Advisorhendershotje@vcu.edu
Painting + PrintmakingSally Bowring, Instructor

Ron Johnson, Administrative Director
sbowring@vcu.edu

johnsonrb@vcu.edu
Photo and FilmJon-Phillip Sheridan, Administrative Directorsheridanjpb@vcu.edu
SculptureMary Eisendrath, Administrative Director mceisendrath@vcu.edu
TheatreShaun McCracken, Academic Advisor & Assistant Professor smmccracken@vcu.edu

If you are unable to contact your advisor or have general advising questions please contact: