TRANSFER STUDENT SPOTLIGHT: COLTON

Categories

What department in film do you enjoy the most?

Since I’m so new to filmmaking, I’m still learning about all the jobs that I like and don’t like. This semester, I’ve been leaning pretty heavily towards the Production Department and am currently working as a Producer, Unit Production Manager, and 2nd Assistant Director across three different films. My affection towards writing and editing grows the more I do them, but I’m not sure I have the patience to do either long-term. Ask me again in a year, and I may have a better answer, haha.

Why did you come to film school?

I came to film school, so I could learn all about the film industry. When I graduate, I want to feel qualified and confident that I can complete any film job that comes my way, whether it be PA, Director, or something in between.

Who is your favorite filmmaker?

I like to be entertained, and I generally focus on lighthearted comedies more than dramas and thrillers. For this reason, Edgar Wright, Wes Anderson, Taika Waititi and Baz Luhrmann are all up there for me. They all have unique styles and are my favorites for different reasons. Wright’s editing, Anderson’s cinematography and colors, Waititi’s “happy-sad” storytelling ability, and Luhrmann’s stylized showmanship. If we go back in time, Howard Hawks’s dialogue, and if we go back even further, Buster Keaton’s stunts and Charlie Chaplin’s storytelling. I’m sorry I can’t give you just one.

Describe your on-set experience? Pros? Cons?