v c u arts students performing on stage

Book and Lyrics by Steven Sater
Music by Duncan Sheik
Based on the Play by Frank Wedekind

May 12th – 16th, 2021

Direction by Kikau Alvaro
Musical Direction by Anthony Smith
Film Direction by Dorie Barton

Originally planned as part of the 2019-20 mainstage season, the production had to be postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Production pivoted to a filmed version which was completed in Spring 2021.

About Spring Awakening

An angsty rock musical adaptation about the trials and tribulations of teenage life, set in 19th century Germany.

SPRING AWAKENING explores the heart wrenching journey from adolescence to adulthood with a poignancy and passion that is illuminating and unforgettable. Creators Steven Sater and Duncan Sheik collaborated to make a landmark musical with an electrifying fusion of morality, sexuality and rock and roll. The original Broadway production of SPRING AWAKENING was winner of eight Tony Awards, including Best Musical.

SPRING AWAKENING is based on the 1891 play of the same name by Frank Wedekind, a German playwright considered one of the forerunners of the expressionist movement. SPRING AWAKENING follows a group of late nineteenth century German students as they navigate teenage self-discovery in an ultra-conservative, sexually repressed world.

This pop rock musical uses song to express the character’s inner landscape—a turmoil of anguish, desire and yearning. The stark contrast of the 19th century setting with the modern soundtrack creates a powerful celebration of youth and rebellion in the daring & remarkable SPRING AWAKENING.

three people in school uniforms

In lieu of the original opening night in April 2020, the team released this Zoom recording of “The Song of Purple Summer” to show appreciation for the entire company and all the month’s of work they had put into the production before the shutdown of Spring 2020. Watch the video here.

Vocals by Mariah Batten, Asjah Janece, Drewe Goldstein, Isaac Baron, Khadijah Franks, Seth Lyons, Guy Liskey, Erica Hughes, Hanna Clinton, Jet Jameson, Michelle Knight, Kylee Marquez-Downie, Jalen Thurman, Mitchell Ashe
Direction by Kikau Alvaro
Musical Direction and Video Editing by Anthony Smith