Meet Kinetic Imaging visiting faculty Melody Loveless

Categories

KI visiting faculty member Melody Loveless is a musician, performer, educator, and multimedia artist based in Brooklyn, NY. Her work ranges from live coding performance, generative sound installations, multisensory performance, and more. Kinetic Imaging wanted to welcome and introduce Melody Loveless, so Melody was kind enough to meet up on Zoom recently with Eric Millikin, KI Instructor and Communications Coordinator.

Eric Millikin: I’ve been following you on your Instagram and feel like I know you quite a bit already! Do you want to make an introduction for everyone reading?

Melody Loveless: Yeah, I could say a short introduction. I am a musician and creative technologist based in New York City. I work primarily with sound, and lately my work has involved a lot of music technologies in some way, so my focus has lately involved coding sound in particular. So, I will do things like use code to improvise with synthesizers and samples, and I also record my voice and play it back to do a live looping set up as well. I’m part of a band called Codie, and I’m also part of a band called Mylar, where I live code in both of them. My work also includes other things involving sound, like generative sound installations, interactive installations and sculpture. And yeah, that’s a good summary for my work.

Eric: Yeah, awesome. I don’t know if you want to name some specific recent things you’ve been working on, like cool new recent projects or anything like that?