FACULTY SPOTLIGHT – PRASHANTH KAMALAKANTHAN

Categories

Where did you go to school and what did you study? 

First I went to Duke University, where I studied political science and cinema, then later I studied directing/screenwriting at NYU’s graduate film program.

What would you say is your main focus in Cinema? (ex. Writing, directing, camera, etc.)  

I’m a writer/director who’s also a professional editor/DP.

Who are your top 3 favorite filmmakers? Why?  

Oh man, tough one. Just based on the duration of my obsession and the consistency of their work, though, I’d have to say: Andrei Tarkovsky, Ingmar Bergman, and Satyajit Ray. 

Are you currently working on any personal projects?  

Yeah, definitely! I always try to have a few buns in the oven, as they say, at various stages of baking.

Most notable at the moment, my first feature as a writer/director is premiering at this year’s Maryland Film Festival, titled Have a Nice Life. It’s a surreal comedy-drama and road movie about two women on the run from the law, starring my mom in a first-time acting role alongside the wonderful actor Lucy Kaminsky, and shot back home in North Carolina, where I grew up. It’ll be available to stream starting May 23 across North America via the festival, so we’re super excited to finally share that project with a wide audience. 

I’m also developing a couple of upcoming features. One is a comedy-thriller about a disillusioned Indian IT worker and suburban dad, desperate for his TikTok-addled son to get serious and ace his job interview at a promising Bay-area tech startup. The other is a longer-term project set in India, based on the true story of how my father narrowly escaped a human trafficking scheme while job searching as a young man in Bombay. 

What is your main piece of advice to give to students?