Alumni Spotlight: Merin Duke (BA ‘18)

The Department of Art History recently caught up with alumna Merin Duke (BA ‘18) about her career as a technician with Richmond Conservation Studio, where she previously interned as an undergraduate Art History major.

Hi Merin! Where do you work, and what is your title?

I work at Richmond Conservation Studio where I am a full-time technician. The studio primarily works on oil paintings.

Describe your current job and what a day to day may entail.

We all work together and do a little bit of everything. I do most of the photography that we do to document the paintings before, during, and after treatment. Photographs are taken in natural, raking, UV, and infrared light. I also help with a lot of structural tasks such as removing canvases from stretcher bars, cleaning and encapsulating inscriptions on stretcher bars, local and overall flattening treatments on canvases, consolidation of flaking paint, removing old linings and adhesives from canvases, lining paintings, and reattaching lined paintings to their stretcher bars. We also build structural reinforcements such as G-10 panels that support lined paintings, inserts for unlined paintings, and backings for all the paintings. Once treatment on the paintings is complete, I help with reframing it. I also help with client pick-ups and drop-offs. When a client brings in a painting, I take notes as the conservators examine the piece, register it in our system, and make a receipt for the client. When the client picks up their art, I accept payment and help pack the painting so it is safe for travel.  

How did your experience as an Art History student prepare you for this career path?