2021 MFA Thesis Exhibition


The 2021 MFA Thesis Exhibition features 32 outstanding emerging artists and designers. Representing eight departments, these students’ ambitious and challenging research pushes beyond traditional disciplines to shape what is new and next in visual and material culture.

The MFA Thesis Exhibition is held at the Anderson (907 ½ W Franklin St, Richmond) and takes place in two rounds:

Round 1: April 9—April 23

Round 2: April 30—May15** 

Public gallery hours are Tues–Fri, 12–6pm & Sat, 12–5pm. In accordance with University guidelines, all visitors to the Anderson must wear appropriate face coverings and maintain physical distancing while inside the building.  

**Thesis research projects by the 2021 Interior Design, Interior Environments MFA class are being presented online and can be viewed at: rampages.us/ides/

Round One
April 9 – April 23

Julia Dann (Graphic Design)
Mystie Do (Graphic Design)
Dāa Guy-Vasson (Sculpture + Extended Media)
Ellen Hanson (Painting + Printmaking)
Mireille Heidbreder (Photography + Film)
mariah barden jones (Graphic Design)
Eric Millikin (Kinetic Imaging)
Audrey Reed (Theatre – Costume Design)
Hanaa Safwat (Painting + Printmaking)
brook vann (Kinetic Imaging)*

* Catch live performances of brook vann’s performing ourselves on Fri. 4/9 (starting a few minutes after the gallery doors open at 12pm) and 4:30pm Thurs. 4/15. Each performance will last approximately 20 minutes and be live streamed. Live stream link for 4/9 performance: https://thecreativeprompt.com/

Round Two
April 30 — May 15

Raúl Aguilar Canela (Painting + Printmaking)
Sara Elisabeth Helene Denney (Graphic Design)
Damien H. Ding (Painting + Printmaking)
Rice Evans (Craft/Material Studies) Larissa García (Painting + Printmaking)
Martha Glenn (Kinetic Imaging)
Alex Goss (Sculpture + Extended Media)
Kelley-Ann Lindo (Painting + Printmaking)
Christine Orr (Craft/Material Studies)
Abed Elmajid Shalabi (Sculpture + Extended Media)
Connor Marie Stankard (Painting + Printmaking)
Alx Velozo (Sculpture + Extended Media)
June Yu (Graphic Design)

Interior Design – Interior Environments MFA (online only)

Rhode Baptiste
Elizabeth Berry
Hannah Bulow
Carrie Collier
Ruth Deibler
Sarah Kincaid
Celia Steigerwald
Angie Thomson
Jocelyn Zavala

Participating Departments

Craft / Material Studies
Graphic Design
Interior Design
Kinetic Imaging
Painting + Printmaking
Photography + Film
Sculpture + Extended Media
Theatre – Costume Design