June 08, 2015
Sculpture’s NYC MFA Exhibition was a Success

Congratulations to the Department of Sculpture + Extended Media for a successful MFA exhibition during Bushwick Open Studios. The exhibition, at The Vazquez Building (93 Forrest St @ Central Ave, Brooklyn, NY*), will run through June 27, 2015. Artists featured include: – Jake Borndal – Tal Gafny & Perrin Turner – Morgan Pearse – Andrew…

Continue Reading

April 28, 2015
Sonya Clark Awarded Honorary Degree

Department of Craft/Material Studies Chair Sonya Clark is one of six to be awarded honorary degrees from Amherst College during its 194th Commencement ceremony on May 24, 2015. Other recipients include Eric Carle, Jim Ansara, Alice Rivlin, Pardis Sabeti and Paul Smith. Clark received her BA from Amherst College.

April 15, 2015
Professor Stephen Vitiello Receives Distinguished Alumni Award

Department of Kinetic Imaging Professor Stephen Vitiello will receive the 2015 Distinguished Alumni award from Purchase College, SUNY at an upcoming commencement ceremony. Vitiello received a BA in Literature as a member of the Purchase College class of 1986. During his senior year, Vitiello interned in a video program at MOMA where he realized his…

Continue Reading

March 13, 2015
Buffington named NAEA’s Teacher of the Year

The National Art Education Association has named Virginia Commonwealth University’s Melanie Buffington, Ph.D., the 2015 National Higher Education Teacher of the Year. Buffington, assistant professor and graduate programs coordinator in the VCU School of the Arts’ Department of Art Education, has current research interests that include museum education, emerging technologies, culturally responsive pedagogy, contemporary art,…

Continue Reading

March 03, 2015
Associate Dean Dr. James Frazier Joins American Dance Festival Board

The American Dance Festival announced that Dr. James Frazier has joined the ADF Board of Directors. Frazier serves as a Visiting Evaluator for the dance accrediting body, the National Association of Schools of Dance and he held the elected offices of President and Secretary of the Council of Dance Administrators. He also serves as Co-chair…

Continue Reading

March 03, 2015
Senior Associate Dean Susan K. Roth Elected to the NASAD Commission on Accreditation

Associate Dean Susan K. Roth was re-elected to a second term on the NASAD Commission during the 70th Annual Meeting held in Minneapolis. NASAD, the National Association of Schools of Art and Design is the national accrediting agency for art, design and related disciplines recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, with more than 320…

Continue Reading

November 18, 2014
Dr. Pam Taylor Receives Award from Virginia Art Education Association

Department of Art Education Professor Dr. Pam Taylor received the award for Higher Education Division from the Virginia Art Education Association at their annual conference in Richmond. The mission of the Virginia Art education association is to promote, support, and advance visual arts education through professional development, leadership, research and service. The VAEA awards serve…

Continue Reading

October 28, 2014
Art Education Professor Nominated for National Higher Education Teacher of the Year

Department of Art Education Associate Professor Dr. Melanie Buffington has been nominated for the National Art Education Association (NAEA) National Higher Education Teacher of the Year.  Buffington will be honored at the annual Virginia Art Education Association (VAEA) conference, November 6 – 8, 2014. She should find out the results of the nomination around late February/March,…

Continue Reading

October 17, 2014
Photography & Film Alumnus Featured in The New York Times

Mark Strandquist (B.F.A. ’13) was featured in The New York Times blog, Lens, which highlighted work from his “Windows From Prison” initiative. “Windows from Prison” focuses on inmates from Washington, D.C. that have been sent outside of the District to one of the country’s many federal penitentiaries. To help bridge the distance gap between the…

Continue Reading

October 13, 2014
AFO Associate Director Elected to NCAA Board of Directors

Associate Director of the Art Foundation program, Elissa Armstrong, was elected onto the Board of Directors of the National Council of Arts Administrators (NCAA). Elections took place during the 42nd Annual NCAA Conference, September 24 – 26 at Vanderbilt University.

September 30, 2014
Craft/Material Chair wins $100,000 ArtPrize 2014 Grand Prize

Department of Craft/Material Studies Chair Sonya Clark is the recipient of this year’s ArtPrize Grand Prize award, an honor she is sharing with another recipient – splitting the $200,000 prize. In addition to the grand prize honors, Clark also received the juried award in the two-dimensional category. In addition to the ArtPrize, Clark has been named…

Continue Reading