Faculty

Full-time faculty members are a collegial group of productive scholars and dedicated mentors. Their work has been published in highly regarded national and international journals relevant to their fields, as well as in monographs and anthologies presented by scholarly and museum affiliated publishers. In their courses, they provide students with various, critically oriented, and theoretically informed approaches to the study of visual and new media art. In addition to full-time faculty, a talented and dedicated group of adjunct faculty enhance departmental course offerings through their research and/or pedagogical expertise.

Prospective graduate students are encouraged to correspond with full-time faculty members who share their scholarly areas of interest.

Faculty

Charles Bleick, Emeritus Associate Professor and Interim Department Chair
PhD, University of North Texas
cbleick@vcu.edu

Kathleen Chapman, Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
PhD, University of Southern California
Research Interests: Late 19th-Century & Early 20th-Century Art, German Expressionism
kchapman4@vcu.edu

Lisa Freiman, Professor
PhD, Emory University
Research Interests: Modern and Contemporary Art
ldfreiman@vcu.edu

Eric Garberson, Associate Professor
PhD, The Johns Hopkins University
Research Interests: Historiography
804.828.7295 • eggarberson@vcu.edu

Tracy Chapman Hamilton, Visiting Associate Professor
tchamilton@vcu.edu

Traci Horne Garland, Adjunct Assistant Professor & Director of Administration, Institute for Contemporary Art
thgarland@vcu.edu

Michael C. Jones, Adjunct Assistant Professor
mcjones2@vcu.edu

 

Babatunde Lawal, Professor
PhD, Indiana University
Research Interests: African, African-American, and African Diaspora Art
804.628.7033 •
 blawal@vcu.edu

Margaret Lindauer, Department Chair and Associate Professor
(on research leave Fall 2019)
PhD, Arizona State University
Research Interests: Museum History, Theory & Practice; Art History & Pedagogy
804.628.7030 • malindauer@vcu.edu

Amy Marshman, Adjunct Assistant Professor
shepherdag@vcu.edu

 

Harrison Trent Nicholas, Adjunct Assistant Professor
htnichol@vcu.edu

 

Michael Panbehchi, Adjunct Assistant Professor
mjpanbeh@vcu.edu

 

Carolyn Porter PhinizyInterim Administrative Director & Assistant Professor
PhD, Virginia Commonwealth University
Research Interests: 19th-Century British Art, Orientalism, and Art History & Pedagogy
804.628.7024 • porterce@vcu.edu

Catherine Roach, Associate Professor
PhD, Columbia University
Research Interests: 19th-Century British Art, History of Exhibitions and Display, Museum Studies
804.628.7037 • croach2@vcu.edu

Michael Shaffer, Adjunct Assistant Professor
shafferm@vcu.edu

Rebecca Shields, Adjunct Assistant Professor
rashields@vcu.edu

 

Emily Davis Winthrop, Adjunct Assistant Professor & Arts Collections Librarian
edwinthrop@vcu.edu

Tobias Wofford, Assistant Professor
PhD, University of California, Los Angeles
Research Interests: African American Art, Contemporary Art, Art of the African Diaspora
twofford@vcu.edu

Art History Advisor

Jackie Mullins, Academic Advisor
mullinsjf@vcu.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Affiliate faculty—curators, directors, and educators at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts—contribute variously to the graduate program. They supervise internships, offer guest lectures, teach or team teach selected museum studies courses, and serve on dissertation committees.

Stephen Bonadies
Deputy Director for Collections and Facility Management

Sarah Eckhardt
Assistant Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art

Celeste Fetta Neff
Chief Educator

Li Jian
The E. Rhodes and Leona B. Carpenter Curator of East Asian Art

Leo Mazow
J. Harwood and Louise B. Cochrane Curator of American Art

Alex Nyerges
Director

Christopher Oliver
Assistant Curator of American Art

Susan J. Rawles
Assistant Curator of American Decorative Art

Peter Schertz
The Jack and Mary Ann Frable Curator of Ancient Art

Barry Shifman
The Sydney and Frances Lewis Family Curator of Decorative Arts 1890 to the Present

Bruce Suffield
Associate Conservator of Paintings

Michael Taylor
Chief Curator and Deputy Director for Art and Education

Richard B. Woodward
Curator of the African art collection at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

Hamad bin Khalifa Chairs of Islamic Art

Jonathan Bloom
jmbloom@vcu.edu

Sheila Blair
ssblair@vcu.edu