The 6 full-time faculty members are a collegial group of productive scholars and dedicated mentors. Their work has been published in highly regarded national and international journals relevant to their fields, as well as in monographs and anthologies presented by scholarly and museum affiliated publishers. In their courses, they provide students with various, critically oriented, and theoretically informed approaches to the study of visual and new media art.

Prospective graduate students are encouraged to correspond with full-time faculty members who share their scholarly areas of interest.

Full-time Faculty

chapmanKathleen Chapman, Assistant Professor
PhD, University of Southern California
Research Interests: Late 19th-Century & Early 20th-Century Art, German Expressionism
kchapman4@vcu.edu

Eric Garberson, Associate Professor & Director of the Interdisciplinary Doctoral Program in Media Art and Text (MATX)
PhD, The Johns Hopkins University
Research Interests: Historiography
804.828.7295 • eggarberson@vcu.edu

Babatunde Lawal, Professor
PhD, Indiana University
Research Interests: African, African-American, and African Diaspora Art
804.628.7033 •
 blawal@vcu.edu

Margaret Lindauer, Department Chair and Associate Professor
PhD, Arizona State University
Research Interests: Museum History, Theory & Practice; Art History & Pedagogy
804.628.7030 • malindauer@vcu.edu

Carolyn Porter PhinizyInterim Administrative Director and Assistant Professor
PhD, Virginia Commonwealth University
Research Interests: 19th-Century British Art, Orientalism, and Art History & Pedagogy
804.628.7024 • porterce@vcu.edu

roachCatherine Roach, Associate Professor
PhD, Columbia University
Research Interests: 19th-Century British Art, History of Exhibitions and Display, Museum Studies
804.628.7037 • croach2@vcu.edu

Tobias Wofford, Assistant Professor
PhD, University of California, Los Angeles
twofford@vcu.edu

Art History Advisor

Jackie Mullins
Academic Advisor
mullinsjf@vcu.edu

Visiting Faculty

Tracy Chapman Hamilton
Visiting Associate Professor
tchamilton@vcu.edu

Part-time Faculty

A talented and dedicated group of adjunct faculty enhance departmental course offerings through their research and/or pedagogical expertise.

Sharayah Cochran
Adjunct Assistant Professor
cochransl@vcu.edu

Traci Horne Garland
Adjunct Assistant Professor & Interim Registrar and Assistant Director of Facilities and Administration, Institute for Contemporary Art
thgarland@vcu.edu

Vivian Hiedemann
Adjunct Assistant Professor
hiedemannvh@vcu.edu

Michael C. Jones
Adjunct Assistant Professor
mcjones2@vcu.edu

Amy Marshman
Adjunct Assistant Professor
shepherdag@vcu.edu

trentHarrison Trent Nicholas
Adjunct Assistant Professor
htnichol@vcu.edu

Michael Panbehchi
Adjunct Assistant Professor
mjpanbeh@vcu.edu

Rebecca Shields
Adjunct Assistant Professor
rashields@vcu.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Affiliate faculty—curators, directors, and educators at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts—contribute variously to the graduate program. They supervise internships, offer guest lectures, teach or team teach selected museum studies courses, and serve on dissertation committees.

Stephen Bonadies
Deputy Director for Collections and Facility Management

Sarah Eckhardt
Assistant Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art

Celeste Fetta Neff
Chief Educator

Li Jian
The E. Rhodes and Leona B. Carpenter Curator of East Asian Art

Leo Mazow
J. Harwood and Louise B. Cochrane Curator of American Art

Mitchell Merling
Paul Mellon Curator and Head of the Department of European Art

Alex Nyerges
Director

Christopher Oliver
Assistant Curator of American Art

Susan J. Rawles
Assistant Curator of American Decorative Art

Peter Schertz
The Jack and Mary Ann Frable Curator of Ancient Art

Barry Shifman
The Sydney and Frances Lewis Family Curator of Decorative Arts 1890 to the Present

Bruce Suffield
Associate Conservator of Paintings

Michael Taylor
Chief Curator and Deputy Director for Art and Education

Richard B. Woodward
Curator of the African art collection at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

Hamad bin Khalifa Chairs of Islamic Art

Jonathan Bloom
jmbloom@vcu.edu

Sheila Blair
ssblair@vcu.edu